Chicks for Novellas

Recently, living on my own and having very limited access to phone and internet, I’ve felt very lonely. To abate this I picked up reading Ai Yazawa’s Nana where I left off. Nana, if you haven’t heard of it, is a popular women’s manga series about the friendship between two women by the same name, Nana. One Nana is a rock star, the other just wants to be a housewife. It’s a very emotional and dramatic series, very beautifully drawn, sympathetic to its characters, and one can really sense Ai Yazawa is in tune with her readers. For me, both Nanas have always felt like good friends.

Anyway, I got to thinking about this novella competition Busybird is holding. Remind again me why the deadline is November 28th, tail-end of NaNoWriMo? How are we supposed to write a novel and a novella in two months (this is based on the assumption that all writing challenges are mandatory, not optional, as some people would have you believe). So I was thinking about this novella that I have a month to write while planning my NaNoWriMo project and entering a bunch of short story comps, and I thought of a really great idea. A story about the friendship of two young women… and mechs. Wow! I love mechs. They make everything better. They say a friend in need is a friend indeed, but I say a friend with a mech is a friend you want to hang out with.

The only problem with this story is that it’s … not… short. It’s certainly not 20-40K short. It’s more like 100K short. So it’s not so much a novella as a full blown novel.

But hey! Mechs are mechs, fun is fun, and life is for writing. I’ve got 20 weeks, give or take, to nut this thing out, get it written and edited, and then I’m going to break it up and serialise it throughout next year. That’s the plan. That way maybe my characters can be the friends to lonely girls out there, the same way Ai Yazawa’s characters have been friends to me.

 

…and after all that, I still don’t have a decent idea for a novella.

About Anneque D. Machelle

Anneque "Dangerpus" Machelle (rhymes with ranger wuss) is a rebel and a rogue from way out west. Strictly banned from interactions with other human beings, she spends her days amongst molluscs, dogs and lizards, whom she counts as her closest friends.

Posted on September 28, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

