This Week’s Reading List

I thought I was getting on top of my reading list. Oh dear me no. Especially not now Jukepop Serials has appeared on the radar.

At least I will never again face the challenge of having nothing to read… although to be honest, the last and probably only time that has ever been the case was when I was in the last year of primary school, and not yet allowed to read the books in the high school section of the library.

In any case, here’s the current reading list:

 

Current:

Wendy Palmer, Bastard’s Grace

Colton Hornstein, Reptiles and Amfibians

bastards-grace

Ongoing:

D. James Fortescue, On A Venusian Cloud Colony Number Nine (Chapter 1, Scene 4 – I’m so far behind)

Anna Herihly, Clarity (Chapter 5 – I squealed when I saw Anna had updated)

Vera Silver, Chimera and the Shrubbery (Chapter 1, been reading some of her shorter work)

Jason Statham standing in for Clarity's Sloan.

Jason Statham standing in for Clarity’s Sloan.

Coming soon:

Jim Butcher, Storm Front

Frank Herbert, Dune (I will read you, I swear >:0)

Gabriel Lucatero, Doubtful

Robbie McNiven, Heavensfall (if I can wrangle a copy)

Francis Franklin, Kings of Infinite Space

And some other stuff undoubtedly.

dune_frank_herbert

Finished this month:

Adam Sinclair, White Noise: Haiku for the Space Age – a beautiful collection of sci-fi and philosophical haiku.

Yahtzee Croshaw, Mogworld – Discworld meets Zero Punctuation, strained through a big vat of WoW.

Skye Dragen, Dragon Tamer – it wasn’t quite what I thought, but I probably enjoyed it more for that.

Shaune Lafferty Webb, Bus on a Strange Loop – probably my favourite story of the year so far. Doctor Who meets Franz Kafka.

Adam McAllister, A Brooklyn Nightmare – great, gritty little read. Very quick but very shocking.

Robbie McNiven, Heavenbloom – a biplane pilot’s best dream, lovely visualisations.

Skye Dragen, Clockwork Romance – another romance, full of action and dashing gents. And only gents.

Heavenbloom

Damn you Goodreads! How can you say I’m behind on my reading – look at all the freakin books I read this month!

Like always, though I never say this, if you ever want an editor or reader, go ahead and ask. I’m more than happy to do edits, and will review work I like on Goodreads and Amazon.

Until the next stupid thought that comes into my head, goodbye!

About Anneque D. Machelle

Anneque "Dangerpus" Machelle (rhymes with ranger wuss) is a rebel and a rogue from way out west. Strictly banned from interactions with other human beings, she spends her days amongst molluscs, dogs and lizards, whom she counts as her closest friends.

Posted on October 21, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Hooray, I made a reading list that wasn’t my own =)

    Thank you for your persistance.

    PS. I am in the same boat as you. Tax study (and Sonic Racing obsession) has killed my reading momentum, so I have been reading ‘Post Captain’ by Patrick O’Brian for almost a month and am only half-way through.

    • I’m enjoying it. Trying to read some every night, but it has been more miss than hit. However! Getting there.

      Tax study would kill anyone’s momentum. Imagine if you were in a race to sail around the world, and along the way you decided to study for that upcoming tax exam. You would probably lose hope immediately and be lost out at sea for half a year.

  2. I love Dune and its sequels. Huge impact on my life and writing.

  3. Dune is amazing. Read it.
    Also, while not hard scifi per se, you MUST read “The Lies Of Locke Lamora”
    Probably the greatest book I have ever read.
    Also:
    Hyperion by Dan Simmons

    • Thanks for the comment! 😀
      Hyperion is on the list somewhere, will have a look now for the Lies of Locke Lamora.
      If you haven’t read it, the Red Mars trilogy by Kim Stanley Robinson is hard sci-fi, and an incredible and emotive future history.

      Thanks again for the comment and the recommendations!

Leave a Reply

