100 Small Lessons From Stories

This is quite fantastic. Number 24, “Never underestimate the determination of dalmations, or their capacity for doling out revenge,” should also apply to Jack Russells. After a restless night last night, my little moustachioed best friend woke me up at 7 this morning, ready to play fetch.

Views From the Tesseract

It’s my 100th post!  I know for veterans, that’s a drop in the bucket of blogging, but considering I started this blog less than a year ago petrified that I’d never be able to stick with it and make it work, I’m feeling ready to celebrate.  So to recognize this 100th post, I’m going to take a look at the lessons I’ve learned from different science fiction and fantasy stories–because I’ve learned a lot from these books.

Some of these are personal thoughts, some are quotes.  They come from a wide range of science fiction and fantasy for kids, creeping into both picture books and YA at times.  I hope you’ll enjoy!

1. “There’s no place like home.” (The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum)

2. If you aren’t good at something you want to do, practice, practice, practice!  Your skill to persevere can surpass natural…

View original post 2,356 more words

About Anneque D. Machelle

Anneque "Dangerpus" Machelle (rhymes with ranger wuss) is a rebel and a rogue from way out west. Strictly banned from interactions with other human beings, she spends her days amongst molluscs, dogs and lizards, whom she counts as her closest friends.

Posted on November 5, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

Leave a Reply

