Are You An Introvert?

Chances are if you’re a reader, you’re an introvert. The odds for introversion are even better if you’re a writer. Introverts are people who gain energy from being on their own. They represent between 20 and 30% of the population, and are somewhat of a foreign species to extroverts, who get their energy from interacting with other people.

As an introvert you can be called antisocial, or a loner, when all you really want is some time alone: social interaction costs energy. Not to mention that it’s really annoying to hear people use the word “antisocial” when the word they want is “unsocial”. Never let anyone call you antisocial and get away with it: sociopaths are antisocial. Introverts are simply unsocial.

meomix

The terms introvert and extrovert have been around since the days of Carl Jung. They’re bandied around every so often and are enjoying a boost of popularity at the moment. Introverts in particular seem to be getting their acts together; there’s an enormous amount of tips and coping strategies for introverts in social situations. But more than that. There’s a sense of community. Introverts are still alone, but now we’re alone together.

I don’t have a lot to say about the subject. Just this: having someone else, even if it’s just in an article or video, say that they can find other people overwhelming, and too much noise overwhelming, and to say there’s nothing wrong with not wanting three thousand friends, feels really good. Sometimes it’s nice to know you’re not the only one who considers parties around the same level of enjoyment as day surgery.

But! Just because there are others out there doesn’t mean it’s cool to hiss at your overly talkative housemate/ family member, “Get out of my face you energy-sucking hell vampire!” All it means is there are people who get you, and who don’t criticise, because they know what it’s like.

And that’s all I have to say about it. If you’re interested in a surprisingly helpful Party Survival Guide, WellCast has one here.

Now, the dog is looking at me like this again:

mr_350ArnoldVosloo

“What do you mean you don’t like my parties?”

So it’s probably time to go throw the ball. Thank you and adios!

About Anneque D. Machelle

Anneque "Dangerpus" Machelle (rhymes with ranger wuss) is a rebel and a rogue from way out west. Strictly banned from interactions with other human beings, she spends her days amongst molluscs, dogs and lizards, whom she counts as her closest friends.

Posted on November 19, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Great post! I’m definitely an introvert. Running very long distances alone through remote areas is much easier for introverts than for extroverts. I don’t mind having a running partner, I just don’t need one.

  2. I’m a total introvert and it really hit me hard on a family vacation this summer. I went to the UK for six weeks and had very little alone time. Nearly three of the weeks was spent with my husband and two young step-children, who live in Sweden and we don’t often see. It got to the point where I had to ask my husband to leave with the kids for an hour or two each day, just so that I could be alone. I needed that time to reenergize, so that I could be my best self when they were around. I was falling apart from not having enough alone time. He was really nice about it, but he is an extrovert and really don’t understand. However, I think even though he doesn’t “get it” he can see that I am happier and better to be around when I just have that little bit of alone time.

  3. ‘Socially trained’ to be an introvert. Hard habit to break =P

  4. This blog looks like great fun! Great post – have you heard of the concept of an introverted extrovert? The introvert needs space and time for reflection, but has a creative extrovert side (i.e. writing, art etc). I read through these psych profiles once and decided that’s what I am!

Leave a Reply

