Free Audio Book Recordings for Indie Authors

…and those with small publishing houses!

It’s sorted. This week I am honoured to bring you the news that starting from January 2014, I’ll be offering an audio book recording service. This is an unpaid service geared around promotion of independent and lesser known authors. Amazon’s audio branch, Audible, is clamouring for more audio books, and this plus the proliferation of iTunes, podcasts and YouTube have made audio a great tool for authors to reach new readers.

Here’s how it will work.

  1. You inquire about having a sample made.
  2. I record the first chapter (or another part of equal length).
  3. The audio is distributed freely on the net and iTunes.
  4. You have a neat audio asset and maybe some new readers.

That’s it. It’s pretty straightforward. I originally wanted to record around half an hour for each book, but that will be dependent on the book’s length. The first chapter will likely be around ten or fifteen minutes worth of audio, and the advice was that this is a perfect length for a sample.

Now, the technical stuff. As an indie author, you own all rights to your book, including audio. You can let me read one chapter or two chapters no worries. For those with publishing houses, however, the publishing house generally owns the audio rights. That means your publisher has to agree to the audio. A publisher agreeing to do anything means use of a contract.

I’ve spoken to a publisher in regards to how happy they would be to do this and how the contract will look. This may not be true for all publishers, but the one I spoke to, Joshua Weekes of Fox Hollow Publications, is happy to go forward with the audio books. There are a lot of small publishers out there, and this is one more tool for promotion, so fingers crossed are willing to let their authors record.

The contract goes a little like this; I have non-exclusive distribution rights for a section of the book to be recorded. The contract can be renewed as necessary. Included is a clause that the publisher can ask that distribution cease immediately, for instance in case I start selling audio books to the NSA. These few rules work out to protect everyone from being sued or having their work used inappropriately.

And that’s it! Recording starts this weekend, and I just can’t wait. In regards to the actual release and distribution, the plan at the moment is to do it via podcast either once a week or once a fortnight. The podcast will really just be the book reading with an introduction and contact information, but making it as a podcast gives us some extra options for distribution. The readings may also go onto YouTube with a static image as the video.

That’s covered everything I can think of. There are a few books already on the line-up, but if you’re interested in having a sample made of your book, feel free to ask. Also, if you’re an author and want to make your own audio books using some of the principles I’ve detailed here, go right ahead. Send us a link to the final product and I’ll put it up on the site.

Until tomorrow: there will be Art.

About Anneque D. Machelle

Anneque "Dangerpus" Machelle (rhymes with ranger wuss) is a rebel and a rogue from way out west. Strictly banned from interactions with other human beings, she spends her days amongst molluscs, dogs and lizards, whom she counts as her closest friends.

Posted on December 2, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Do you only intend to do samples? Or do you plan also to do complete works for Audible to distribute?

    • At the moment it’s just samples. Down the road I’d like to try making a larger service to connect writers with recorders. Don’t get me wrong, I’d love to do a recording of a whole book, but recording is a career in itself.

      I will probably make some full books, however. The Fallouts is too long, but there are some other books I’d love to record.

      So… yes and no. Not much of a helpful answer, is it?

  2. A very great idea! I love audiobooks and would love to have mine eventually also available as one. As it is still in the editing phase, I might offer a few chapters next year, after publication. And like Frank, I’d be very interested in the whole book.

  3. Reblogged this on Flaming Colours and commented:
    Add another promotional dimension to your indie book: audio sampling

  4. Ooh, I’ll keep that in mind 🙂

  5. Good work on securing some initial work. I hope it’s onward and upwards from here on in =)

  6. Anneque, found this via a WordPress suggestion of posts for my own audio book article; i have 5 books narrated recently, and, from my own experience getting started, the type of service you’re gonna start providing in January will be very helpful to a lot of folk also getting started. All the best wishes 🙂

  7. Hey there! I’ve put one of my novelettes on a free run this weekend, so if you like you can check it out. I have to resist looking at my stats on kdp every so often. It’s like a slow but thrilling game of lawn bowls! Let me know if it’s the type of thing you might be interested in recording (it’s paranormal stuff like my flash fiction) and we can discuss the nitty gritty sometime!
    The Wary Traveler http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DILP6JS

  1. Pingback: Blogdom Nov. 20-Dec. 18 ’13 | Welcome to the ToiBox

Leave a Reply

