Bibliophiles Ahoy!

Book collecting, abstrusely described by Wikipedia, is the “collecting of books”. Now, while that blows your mind, allow me to ask you a pressing question:

Do you collect books?

If you answered yes, keep reading. If not, bugger off. You can come back later when the dust has settled and the bodies have been tagged.

If you yes, collect books, then riddle me this: do you organise them? Do you create systems for them? Or do you perhaps use a modified Dewey Decimal System? Say, for fiction works. Dewey is fairly simplistic when it comes to sorting fiction (let alone computers), I understand that you may require a more in-depth system. I understand that you may invest hours of your life which could be spent doing anything else into modifying your book-sorting system.

I understand. Because I do it too. So I really wish that you would do it, so it wasn’t just me and Dewey and Johannes Cabal pencilling numbers into the inside covers of too many a tome. And for me, thinking, Dewey, you horrible bastard, why couldn’t it have been a hexadecimal system with allowances made for fiction genres? The dystopian cannot go next to the paranormal romance, Dewey!

Bibliophilia: if you’ve got it, share it.

Post out.

book-pile

And this is just the library pile!

About Anneque D. Machelle

Anneque "Dangerpus" Machelle (rhymes with ranger wuss) is a rebel and a rogue from way out west. Strictly banned from interactions with other human beings, she spends her days amongst molluscs, dogs and lizards, whom she counts as her closest friends.

Posted on January 3, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I keep my collections pretty simple. Non-fiction is a small stack at the bottom of my bookshelf and a small folder on my kiddle app. Fiction is placed in ordre by title becasue I tend to remember stories better than authors.

Leave a Reply

