Literature Emergency Broadcast ep 3

This week I was lucky enough to nab an interview with Plague Legacy: Acquisitions author Christine Haggerty. You can hear the interview plus some facts about the Big Six publishers as well as a (probably) idle threat for a fanfiction-inspired episode of Literature Emergency Broadcast right here:

Literature Emergency Broadcast episode 3

Enjoy!

Oh, and you can also find Christine Haggerty and her wonderful work here.

christine

About Anneque D. Machelle

Anneque "Dangerpus" Machelle (rhymes with ranger wuss) is a rebel and a rogue from way out west. Strictly banned from interactions with other human beings, she spends her days amongst molluscs, dogs and lizards, whom she counts as her closest friends.

Posted on January 11, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Great interview! I will be sure to provide a link to it when I post my full review of ‘Acquisitions’ =)

  2. I was given Harry Potter 1-3 for my birthday one year, so decided finally to read them… okay, I suppose, but from #4 onwards the books are awful. Harry Potter started out as a slightly cheeky children’s book, and that doesn’t translate to epic, waffling tomes of inexplicable dark magic.

    Kristen Cashore’s Graceling and Fire are far superior, in my opinion. I loved them. I haven’t read Bitterblue yet.

    • Harry always strikes me as somewhat of a jerk. And yeah, the series has its high points and intrigue, but the style is too firmly tacked into the “90s children’s books” to be truly appealing.

      I haven’t read Graceling. Christine’s son apparently didn’t like them, but then he’s a fan of Harry Potter. Perhaps it will end up on the pile for us both one day. Diana Wynne Jones is my favourite children’s author by a long way. She never gave off that pat-on-the-head vibe that Rowling does.

      Thanks for listening!

      • It surprised me when I saw people referring to Cashore as a YA author. I guess she can be categorised that way, but I just read Graceling as standard fantasy. Both Graceling and Fire focus on fantasy females with inherent powers, yes, but the romances are restrained and don’t dominate the plot.

      • That’s good to hear. Actually, that is one thing I thought Divergent did really well – the romance. It was really well played out, sincere, never overly dramatic. It was a nice sideline and well, pretty much the only thing about the book that was done as well as it could have been.

  1. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW Acquisitions | D. JAMES FORTESCUE

  2. Pingback: Me, Me, Me | christinehaggertyauthor

Leave a Reply

