Dell has never looked so … human

About four hours ago I said I would be back in two minutes with another post. And then I remembered I had to draw something. That something was Kordell, star of the upcoming Fallouts novella.

koredell copy

Last week I ran a competition on my Facebook author’s page. It was pretty simple and I didn’t think it would get many hits ^_^;; The deal was this: to enter, you just had to list a word that was written either on your person (tattoo or clothing brand) or was written on an item within arm’s reach. The winning word would become the name of a fallout in the novella.

The competition generated a surprisingly amount of interest, given that Facebook is usually a dead-in-the-water platform for me, and for authors in general, from what I’ve seen. Terry Pratchett does all right but even he is lucky to get 2000 hits for big news, and compared to George Takei’s 20 trillion hits a day the discrepancy is clear. So I was pleasantly surprised, and the character has a name. A friend suggested Kore Dell, and Kordell it was.

But I had so much interest that I wanted to nominate someone else, too, so I counted the entries (34 whoo!) and used a random number generator to give me a count. That gave me fellow author Kristi Lazzari’s suggestion, Lilly, who is her dog. Very cute! And now we have a Lilly Peninsula, which will be the setting of the story.

So that’s that. I’m encouraged by the success of this, and plan to have a few more competitions in the coming months. I’m thinking one will be to suggest a location for a dystopian novella, another may be to suggest a super power. I’ll keep you posted, and if you like my Facebook page, you can participate and win things. Hurray for winning!

Anchorman-DI

Now for the news.

Serials. The Sunday Witch Hunters is rattling along at its own good pace. As of next week we’ll be a quarter of the way through the first book. Gees! Wow, that just flew by. I suppose there will be about 36 chapters, finishing some time in September. It may also be appearing in Jukepop Serials in the next few months. When the entire first book has been published, I’ll compile the chapters and publish them for Kindle along with a bunch of extras, such as exactly what Lily wrote on the sheet she gave Joe.

Speaking of juicy extras. I have a few new projects in the works. One is Fabled Ultimate, a fantasy series. Unlike Witch Hunters, Fabled Ultimate was written to be a serial, and so it should translate really well to a weekly release. The first 26 chapters will start going live when Witch Hunters is finished. I’m really excited about it! Gosh. I’m typing up the story at the moment from my handwritten copy, and it’s just heaps of fun and quite personal. There are like, two characters. I really tried to limit the characters, so that they could develop a very natural and very strong friendship, which is at the heart of the story. It’s also nice to work with a small cast after the huge number of characters in the Fallouts, and the fewer but still fairly intense numbers in Witch Hunters.

One (two) last bits of news. My plan for the rest of the year is to write and publish five novellas in ten months. The first of those is the Fallout novella. The next three are also planned, no idea what five will be. I hope to be doing some process workshops during that time, maybe sharing a few techniques for a solid editing regime. Uggggghhhh.

And last before the reading list, I have to thank everyone for their support over the past five months. It’s been unbelievable. These communities are so rewarding to work with, meeting other authors and readers is brilliant. And! I need a favour. But it’s nothing monetary. I’m caught up in some RL dramas at the moment. I hope to be able to update the site frequently and get everything done, but as you can see with the podcast (or lack thereof) it isn’t always possible. So, I don’t know how long it will take for things to be normal again. And I’ll be around, so, hold on, I guess.

All right, and now for the reading list.

No! You can't cheat and read Dune now!

No! You can’t cheat and read Dune now!

Now Reading:

  • Blue Mars (still T-T) by Kim Stanley Robinson
  • Brilliance by Anthony McCarten

103_large

Just Finished:

9781483403656_COVER.indd

Up Next:

  • Storm Front by Jim Butcher
  • The Great Bazaar and Brayan’s Gold by Peter V. Brett
  • Balanced in an Angel’s Eye by Shaune Lafferty Webb
  • Heavenfall by Robbie MacNiven (finally!)
  • Achromatic by D. James Fortescue (also finally!)
Come on come on come on come on!

Come on come on come on come on!

And that’s it from me this week. Have a wonderful weekend full of adventure and books. :3

About Anneque D. Machelle

Anneque "Dangerpus" Machelle (rhymes with ranger wuss) is a rebel and a rogue from way out west. Strictly banned from interactions with other human beings, she spends her days amongst molluscs, dogs and lizards, whom she counts as her closest friends.

Posted on February 28, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You keep yourself amazingly busy. Good luck with your novella challenge, and I look forward to this Fabled Ultimate =)

Leave a Reply

