Host MIA, Paranormal Junk

Well. I’m missing. I’ll just put that out there in case nobody noticed. I’ve taken my bike and run away from home. There’s a circus in town and I’m gonna join it.

Okay, so it’s not quite that dramatic. Also I’m overqualified for the circus. The chance for a little beach-bike downtime came along, and I took it. I should be back into posting and podcasting mid next week.

Hmm… two things which haven’t stopped are reading and writing. I’m about halfway through the draft of the Fallouts novella, and about 1/3 through Jim Butcher’s Storm Front, the first in the Dresden Files series. Some of you probably really like Dresden. I’ve heard from a couple of people that the series takes a few books to really get good. Well that’s something, but at the moment Dresden is really not doing it for me. He’s the dungeon-nerd chauvenistic bastard child of Anita Blake and Stephanie Plum, only not as well written as either. I’m doing more grimacing than laughing and well, that’s never a good sign.

Of course, in Dresden’s defence, Storm Front was written in 2000, before the new wave of paranormal induced by the Harry Potter fans coming of age (but before the acceptance of women as equal to men? I don’t think so. Don’t be a slut shamer, Dresden.) In 2000, the paranormal competition was far less mainstream, and its diversity far less embraced.

There are definitely some good things about the book. There’s a bunch if magical beings in Dresden’s Chicago and his take on vampires is particularly refreshing. It’s just Dresden’s character who leaves so much to be desired. You know what? I really thought Dresden was going to be like my character Haru from the Fallouts. I really did. I expected wit and bastardry. Gosh, you know, I wanted to see a bit of Thraxas, THE paranormal private investigator. But nope, no witty bastardry or hardcase washed-up P.I. to be had here. As it is I keep thinking back fondly to the latest Johannes Cabal short, Ouroboros Ouzo, and have a bit of a snarky laugh at my favourite line, “Of course it is, you f*cking idiot.” Have you read that one yet? No spoilers, but the second manifestation is definitely the best. It would be a little (a.k.a. very) tragic, but I’d be just delighted if Howard went down that path. Scar, eye patch, cooooool….

What’s that got to do with Dresden? Why, absolutely nothing. But you could do worse than to snag a copy of Ouroboros Ouzo, and, AND if you want a free story that is also very enjoyable, D. James Fortescue is running a serial called Achromatic over on his self-titled website.

I’d say we should take a look at some Harry Dresden/ Anita Blake crossover fiction, but Laurel K. Hamilton has forbidden anyone to write fanfiction about her work. Dick move, Hamilton. I’m sure it’s out there anyway, but you may have to peer beyond the veil to find it.

What else? There is one more thing, book related. James L. Wilber is just about to release his new book, Chasing the Wyrm, and as a beta I can tell you that book is everything you could dream for in a paranormal action suspense. His protagonist Christopher Yan is everything Harry Dresden should have been (unless Dresden was Thraxas, which in my opinion he should be), but better. Aw man, I loved Chasing the Wyrm. I’d love to see a Hollywood agent approach Wilber for a movie based on it. I don’t know if the agent would leave such a meeting intact…

So that’s a bunch of things, some loosely connected, and so now here’s a vague promise that my own paranormal action splash, the Sunday Witch Hunters, will be back soon, plus a far more concrete romantic picture of my bike.

20140310_185312

About Anneque D. Machelle

Anneque "Dangerpus" Machelle (rhymes with ranger wuss) is a rebel and a rogue from way out west. Strictly banned from interactions with other human beings, she spends her days amongst molluscs, dogs and lizards, whom she counts as her closest friends.

Posted on March 11, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. While we love your writing, you must get out there and enjoy life whenever the opportunity arises =)

    Thank you very much for the shout-out for ‘Achromatic’. Will have Chapter 2 Scene 1 posted later tonight, after some research about the Buffalo Bill Centre of the West and its setup in the 1960’s.

    The pic almost looks like a unicycle. I wondered how Sax would fit until I realised it’s just the camera angle >P

    I have noticed the ‘Dresden Files’ series at my local Dymocks. Thanks for the heads-up on the ‘growing pains’ of the first book =)

    Sorry, last part of this rambling post. Stumbled across a late-night show called ‘Death Valley’, where some offshoot LAPD department fights off supernatural things. Have you seen it?

  2. That’s an awesome bicycle and a wonderful beach to run away to!

Leave a Reply

