Now Accepting Magic School Enrollments

Harry Potter, Monster Academy, the School for Good and Evil, Storybound … what is it about magic schools that we find so appealing? When I was in school I was convinced that one of my teachers was a vampire and that another one was a T-rex. I didn’t need no magic wand or golden snitch or monster hunting stick.

It wasn’t that Harry Potter wasn’t around. I was still in primary school when Potter first flew onto the scene. My friends would talk for hours about Hogwarts and magic and castles. Potter did nothing for me, but oh how I used to dream that I could dream of being in a magic school.

How about you? Were you (are you) are Harry Potter fan? There is, these days, more books about magic schools than there is about the standard reality non-magic ones. If you’ve navigated the labyrinth of these many works, I want to know about it. I’m putting together a Magic School Month for the site (with videoooooos!) and your information could really help. If you know of any magic school books, or have written one yourself, let me know.

Think of it as showing around the new kid.

hippogriff1

Hey! His owl evolved!

About Anneque D. Machelle

Anneque "Dangerpus" Machelle (rhymes with ranger wuss) is a rebel and a rogue from way out west. Strictly banned from interactions with other human beings, she spends her days amongst molluscs, dogs and lizards, whom she counts as her closest friends.

Posted on May 9, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. I love Harry Potter. I became a fan when I started high school. It was fun that most people I knew were into it as well.

  2. I think everyone would love to learn how to be more powerful than they normally are. 🙂

  3. Not a rabid HP fan, but enjoyed the series. Always thought Snape was the best, good or bad =)

  4. I love Harry Potter, but didn’t start reading them until I was an adult.

    • Do you mind if I ask what appeals to you most about the series?

      • Probably the humanity of Rowling’s characters. The heroes are good but flawed. Many of the villains, though evil, have at least some spark of good within them (with the exception of Voldemort), and are conflicted. I felt like I was reading about real people.

      • That’s a good point. One of the reasons I never got into the series was that I just didn’t like Harry. He’s kind of a jerk. But he does play the part of a flawed protagonist exceptionally well. Looking back, you don’t really have to like Harry to get enjoyment out of the series. The supporting cast is varied enough.
        Are you much of a Discworld fan, by any chance?

      • I’ve heard of the series, but haven’t read any of the books yet. I’d like to get to it at some point, but there are so many other books I have left to read first 😦

  5. I have to admit, I will be of no help to you. I haven’t read any of the books. I have seen the movies and enjoyed them. Mostly though, I too dreamed of a magic school. A school where anything was possible and where the tests were fun. Also…a wand would be cool.

  6. Sorry, I’ll be of littel help here too, but I’m excited to see what you come up with.

    • It’s kind of a cool genre. The more I read about magic schools, the more I can see the appeal. No parents, plus magic, so it’s giving kids responsibility and independence, as well as being a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

