Site Updates & Other People’s Successes

Well hello there. Chances are if you’re not reading this on WordPress Reader, then you’ve noticed the site has had some changes. Well. All right, if you read the menu and the sidebar then you may have noticed. Superficially we’re largely the same.

Over the last few days I’ve been making many much-needed updates to the site. Pages have been discarded – the Sunday Witch Hunters page is gone, as with the Podcasts, Library and Books pages. While the SWH page is gone-gone, the other three have simply been renamed and overhauled. Books is now My Books, for the purpose of clarity. There’s also information for my latest title, The Vamps, on the page.

Library has become Reviews. I feel this is still something of a misnomer. It wasn’t really a library and now it’s not really reviews. And it’s certainly not reviews for my stories (shortest page ever.) In fact the Reviews page is a catalogue of stories I have reviewed, and it provides only an overhead of the rating given to each book, plus title and author information, cover and genre. I will be putting in links to the reviews I have written and recorded, but that will happen over time … and as I can find them. Still, Reviews is worth a trawl if you’re looking for a book in a particular genre. The Science Fiction and Fantasy pages are both healthily populated, and I expect to add more … again, as I find the reviews.

The third page to have a change of name is Podcasts. The new Audio page still contains only the old podcasts, and some of them will need to be directly uploaded to WordPress or Stitcher before they work. However, the podcast will be experiencing a revival in October, and then the Audio page will be neat, slick and up-to-date. Also very exciting! A good friend of mine by the dossier Pirate has jumped on board as co-host of the new podcast, and we’re both bursting with ideas.

There are a couple of other bits I’m excited about. The About page has had a total overhaul. The information there is relevant for the first time this year. Whoo! And there is also a Video page! Now that is titillating. Currently three videos are linked: my reading for the Ivory God, and the 2 Minute Review for the Death of Eve. Oh, and a fantastic video on aliens in literature by another BookTuber. I encourage you to check them all out.

And that’s about it. So while the site banners remain outdated, it is very much a case of different shit, same package.

You know, just anecdotally here, sometimes I worry that everyone’s doing better than me. Everyone has a million more reviews, a million more followers. And I see a few of them flogging their books all day long on Twitter. There’s nothing wrong with a bit of book flogging. It’s the healthiest thing you can do as a writer. But never tweeting anything else it gets a bit much. Still, I think, maybe I should be doing that. Maybe these people are tapping into some secret well of knowledge I just don’t know about. Maybe I’m missing the part of the brain that allows genuine human connections to be forged on the whim of an instant. I’ll never get it and I may as well give up.

But then I remember: I didn’t do these goddamn site updates for nothing.

And what’s more, writing, reviewing, reading, talking to other authors and readers – it’s about the most fun you can have, whether you feel successful or not.

😉 Keep reading!

PS: I owe you an article on Atmosphere. I’ve spoken to Sax about it and he thinks it should be out tomorrow.

Sax as he appears in the Matrix.

Sax as he appears in the Matrix.

About Anneque D. Machelle

Anneque "Dangerpus" Machelle (rhymes with ranger wuss) is a rebel and a rogue from way out west. Strictly banned from interactions with other human beings, she spends her days amongst molluscs, dogs and lizards, whom she counts as her closest friends.

Posted on September 24, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. You know what I think about those constant tweets yelling at me to buy ppl’s books? Annoying. Please tell me about your book, and if you are interesting I may even want to rush out and get it, but shouting it out every 2 and a half minutes makes me want to run the other way. Just my opinion, but if that means “successful”, then no thank you.
    You keep doing what you do – your way!! The rest will follow.
    (At least that is what I tell myself anyway)
    🙂

    • Spot on in regards to the tweets. There are people who do it right – Jex Collyer is always inspirational about such matters. She posts just enough that you know she’s got a book out and some feedback about it; but she has enough other interactions that you know she actually cares about having meaningful interactions with other users. I guess it’s about balance.
      Although I say this as someone who has added a link to my book on Amazon in the blog sidebar … and I do wish my blogging habits were a bit more reliable.

      You’re doing well, Kristi. There mustn’t be long left until the official launch party for Blessed Light, right?

  2. SWH is gone?! I was just catching up. Are you going to publish it in another form? Pleeeeeaaaaaaasssssseeeeeee!

Leave a Reply

